HHIR Presents “Fathers of Rap, Volume One”

This was supposed to drop a few days ago but was delayed due to some last minute additions. Now it is finally here.  The homie Ivan from Hip-Hop Is Read hit me with this compilation which shows a real tribute to Hayes.

The Hip-Hop Is Read team put together an incredible compilation of hip-hop songs that have sampled the
legendary Isaac Hayes.

I’ll let Hip-Hop Is Read describe it in their own words.

This HHIR exclusive right here, entitled “Fathers of Rap, Volume One”, is a labor of love that’s been nested in the back of my mind for over a year now (a James Brown set is assuredly soon to follow). “Fathers of Rap, Volume One” features a slew of my favorite, personally-picked hip hop tracks which sampled the great Isaac Hayes. But to call this collection of tracks “a bunch of songs which sampled Isaac Hayes” would be an absolute understatement. Isaac Hayes’ music wasn’t simply the source for sampling; his music was a source for inspiration. Much like sample greats Donny Hathaway, Marvin Gaye, James Brown and others, Isaac Hayes’ music offered more than a sample, loop and/or break; his music supplied and injected soul into any project or song connected to it. Each of these tracks bears a strong connection to the original Hayes’ compositions — each a classic in their own right.”

Tracklist and download after the jump.

01. Chuck D – ‘Eulogy for Isaac Hayes’
02. Public Enemy – ‘Black Steel in the Hour of Chaos’
• Samples Isaac Hayes’ ‘Hyperbolicsyllabicsesquedalymistic’
• Produced by The Bomb Squad
03. Ice Cube – ‘I Gotta Say What Up!!!’
• Samples Isaac Hayes’ ”Hyperbolicsyllabicsesquedalymistic’
• Produced by Ice Cube & The Bom Squad
04. DJ Quik – ‘Born and Raised in Compton’
• Samples Isaac Hayes’ ‘Hyperbolicsyllabicsesquedalymistic’
• Produced by DJ Quik
05. 2Pac – ‘Soulja’s Story’
• Samples Isaac Hayes’ ‘No Name Bar’
• Produced by Live Squad
06. Geto Boys – ‘Mind Playing Tricks on Me’
• Samples Isaac Hayes’ ‘Hung Up on My Baby’
• Produced by Geto Boys
07. Redman – ‘Tonight’s Da Night’
• Samples Isaac Hayes’ ‘A Few More Kisses to Go’
• Produced by Erick Sermon & Redman
08. Eric B. & Rakim – ‘Keep the Beat’
• Samples Isaac Hayes’ ‘Joy’
• Produced by Eric B. & Rakim
09. Dr. Dre – ‘Stranded on Death Row’
• Samples Isaac Hayes’ ‘Do Your Thing’
• Produced by Dr. Dre
• Featuring Bushwick Bill, Kurupt, The Lady of Rage, RBX & Snoop Dogg
10. Compton’s Most Wanted – ‘Hood Took Me Under’
• Samples Isaac Hayes’ ‘Walk on By’
• Produced by DJ Slip
11. The Notorious B.I.G. – ‘Warning’
• Samples Isaac Hayes’ ‘Walk on By’
• Produced by Easy Mo Bee
12. KRS-One – ‘Wannabemceez’
• Samples Isaac Hayes’ ‘Buns O Plenty’
• Produced by DJ Premier
• Featuring Mad Lion
13. Jay-Z – ‘Can I Live’
• Samples Isaac Hayes’ ‘The Look of Love’
• Produced by Irv Gotti
14. Jay-Z – ‘Reservoir Dogs’
• Samples Isaac Hayes’ ‘Theme from Shaft’
• Produced by Erick Sermon & Darold Trotter
• Featuring The Lox, Sauce Money & Beanie Sigel
15. Dr. Dre – ‘Xxplosive’
• Samples Isaac Hayes’ ‘Bumpy’s Lament’
• Produced by Dr. Dre & Mel-Man
• Featuring Hittman, Kurupt, Nate Dogg & Six-Two
16. Wu-Tang Clan – ‘I Can’t Go to Sleep’
• Samples Isaac Hayes’ ‘Walk on By’
• Produced by RZA
• Featuring Isaac Hayes
17. Ghostface Killah – ‘Malcolm’
• Samples Isaac Hayes’ ‘Going in Circles’
• Produced by Choo the Specializt
18. Beanie Sigel – ‘Still Got Love for You’
• Samples Isaac Hayes’ ‘Ike’s Mood I/You’ve Lost That Lovin’ Feelin”
• Produced by Just Blaze
• Featuring Jay-Z & Rell
19. Isaac Hayes – ‘Bonus Track: Shaft (End Theme)’



~ by vsadmin on August 27, 2008.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: